Read The Letter (English Edition) by Ruth Saberton Online

the-letter-english-edition

The Letter is a beautiful novel set in England between the First World War and the present day Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, it is the story of an aristocratic family, a forbidden love affair and the darkest of secrets kept for over one hundred years On the eve of the First World War aspiring poet Kit Rivers looks forward to a bright future As the Lord of the Manor s heir, Kits duty is to the family estate but when he falls passionately in love he knows a hard choice must be made Yet before the golden days of summer can fade into autumn, war comes and changes his world forever One century later young widow Chloe exchanges London for an isolated Cornish house Haunted by memories, Chloes interest in an obscure war poet, Kit Rivers, proves a welcome distraction from grief and leads her to piece together a forgotten history Faced with questions than answers, her own life soon becomes entwined with Kit s through love, loss, and the darkest of secretsThe novel is full of secrets, suspense and set in Cornwall so reminiscent of Daphne du Maurier and Rosamunde Pilcher Romantic and suspenseful, it is also a tale of loss and love, the devastation of war and the shattered lives of those left behind A 1 bestseller on UK, The Letter is a vivid novel of heart break and passion, with characters and an ending the reader won t forget....

Title : The Letter (English Edition)
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : B078QXTD6T
ISBN13 : -
Format Type : Hardback
Language : Englisch
Publisher : Notting Hill Press Auflage 1 31 Dezember 2017
Number of Pages : 168 Pages
File Size : 863 KB
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Letter (English Edition) Reviews

  • Texas
    2018-10-29 11:51

    The Letter - What a wonderful story; written similar to the manner of Rosamunde and Maeve! I loved the way Neil was always there, yet, in Cornwall, there are no memories to interfere with Chloe's grief.This is a well written, mesmerizing story with interesting, believable characters that grow as the story progresses. The story telling flows along, keeping the reader locked in the pages. The emotions run the gamut from grief to excitement to happiness to horror, among others.The mystery about Kit and the daisy add to the intrigue of The Letter. This the main love story tears the heart out of the reader. While Chloe and Neil and Matt are important parts of The Letter, Daisy and Kit are the heart and soul of this story.World War I was the beginning of modern warfare and even as primitive as the weapons were, compared to today's arsenal, the damage done to the soldiers and their families was horrific. The trenches and the mustard gas destroyed so much of that generation. The author does a great job describing the parts of The Great War that affected the characters.I've enjoyed all the books I've read so far by this author and hope to read more of her future intriguing and mesmerizing stories. She does not disappoint the reader.The Season for Second Chances - Heartwarming! A well written Christmas story that wraps warmth around you as you get deeper into the pages. There's suspense caused by the weather; and everyone is having a rotten time in their lives before reaching Tucketts' and Hallow's farms.The characters are believable and the dialog realistic. The reader feels hope for all as second chances abound. If you enjoy M. Binchy and P. S. Buck, you love Ms. Saberton's story.Rock My World - I liked this author so much I contacted her to review her books and she gave me RMW. While well written with interesting characters and realistic dialog, I think it should have been looked at better by her editor: the story didn't flow right for me. But I kept reading because the author's writing style kept me reading, kept me wanting to know how Nick and Jess travel to their HEA.Then it happened, the author followed the same ole Stupid Formula: Jess listens to her enemy instead of her Nick and her heart and damages her world. This formula is overused, and stupid, by a lot of authors and is boring to read again and again. I stopped reading here. Please, don't let my disappointment stop you from reading RMW; Ms. Saberton is an interesting storyteller and this book may be for your enjoyment. After all, I stopped near the end, >90%, and that's saying something.Later, Ms. Saberton told me that publisher sets this formula, not the authors. I think the publisher is an idiot and should check out the real world, because I know I'm not the only person who has a problem with this formula.I love the fact that the author didn't use vulgar language and while there was sexual tension, nothing was explicit. I look forward to her next book.

  • Sunny
    2018-11-07 12:52

    What a poignant love story in England during the war. Kit and Daisy are prevented by class distinctions from having the approval to marry, and Kit is declared missing in action. Daisy spends her life believing he will somehow return and she is protective of his poetry. Present day and the past alternate chapters. A young widow/artist is trying to restart her life. She gets caught up in researching the old manor where Kit was born, and a small box of Daisy's treasures and journal discovered in the old Rectory. Loving and bittersweet memories of the past are uncovered. I had difficulty putting the book down.In reading about the author, I discovered she writes under several different names. I am definitely going to look into reading her other novels.

  • ThoughtfulReader
    2018-11-07 08:33

    Ruth Saberton's books are an auto-buy for me. Her words, her turn of phrase, her delightful descriptions of Cornwall draw me in and wrap around me like a warm blanket. I have read all her books (some twice) and I have loved them all to pieces.The Letter is simply a masterpiece. It is a finely crafted, well-researched story, threaded delicately through 1914 to the present.Like Ruth's other Cornwall novels, the warmth of the characters jumps off the pages. The Cornwall countryside is familiar, even to those of us who have never visited.I highly recommend this book.

  • Amazon Customer
    2018-10-30 09:33

    What a profound book! 2 eras make the book fascinating, present time and WW1. Chloe loses her husband to cancer. Lost in grief, she moves to Cornwell. There she seeks the lives of Daisy and Kit, who lived a century before. Following the lives of the characters was so special. Kit, maimed by war never returned to Daisy. Yet their love lived on. Chloe is able to move on to the future, yet hold the past as part of her. Such a wonderful story. So many lives changed by the events. This book was so hard to put down. I wanted to know the whole story. The events of the past, and the future shape our lives. Love, loss, and the continuation of life are found. Thank you to the writer for touching my heart in a special way.

  • Sylvia
    2018-10-26 13:37

    I love historical books, and this one was great! It paralleled a good story of modern day with a wonderful story of early 1900's that was a true story. Really makes you understand what some people in our history really went through. This book held me to the end, not a typical, predictable story. I enjoyed this story thoroughly and will read more by this author.

  • Lady Darlene
    2018-10-18 07:43

    Highly recommend this book. I could not put it down. I was hooked from the first page and crying at the end. I understood where Chloe was coming with her feelings of loss and trying desperately to move on with life. I understood the love story of Kit and Daisy and it brought me to tears as it was told.