Read The Drowning (Patrik Hedstrom and Erica Falck) by Camilla Lackberg Online

the-drowning-patrik-hedstrom-and-erica-falck

Swedish crime sensation and No 1 international bestseller, Camilla Lackberg s new psychological thriller for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo Christian Thydell s dream has come true his debut novel, The Mermaid, is published to rave reviews So why is he as distant and unhappy as ever When crime writer Erica Falck, who discovered Christian s talents, learns he has been receiving anonymous threats, she investigates not just the messages but also the author s mysterious past Meanwhile, one of Christian s closest friends is missing Erica s husband, Detective Patrik Hedstr m, has his worst suspicions confirmed as the mind games aimed at Christian and those around him become a disturbing reality But, with the victims themselves concealing evidence, the investigation is going nowhere Is their silence driven by fear or guilt And what is the secret they would rather die to protect than live to see revealed International bestseller Camilla Lackberg delivers a chilling and suspenseful mystery that will grip the reader right until its staggering final twist...

Title : The Drowning (Patrik Hedstrom and Erica Falck)
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0007419538
ISBN13 : 978-0007419531
Format Type : Audio Book
Language : Englisch
Publisher : HarperCollins Publishers Ltd Auflage 1 1 Juli 2012
Number of Pages : 496 Seiten
File Size : 891 KB
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Drowning (Patrik Hedstrom and Erica Falck) Reviews

  • Josellie
    2018-11-10 11:38

    Ich lese Serien grundsaetzlich in chronologischer Reihenfolge, und auch beim sechsten Buch der Hedstrom/Falck Serie wurde ich nicht enttaeuscht. Alle Buecher der Serie machten Lust auf mehr Geschichten des Paares, und ich war ein bisschen traurig, dass ich nun warten muss, bis wieder eins rauskommt.Wer Schwedenkrimis mag, wird diese Serie auch moegen.

  • Barbara Hardman
    2018-10-25 10:42

    I am a bit confused - this book was said to be new - coming out Sept 15 of this year - I ordered it on my kindle and was so excited - yet as I read it, it was very familiar...I looked a bit further and see that the book came out in 2012 and was sold as a paperback! I was a bit upset - I HAD already purchased and read it in paperback a couple of years ago! What is the deal here?!?!? That was most misleading. I just wasted my money.

  • J. Barbee
    2018-11-07 09:42

    I've been a fan of this series up until this book. In this one, the characters remain compelling, but the mystery is weak and the payoff isn't enough to forgive some of the narrative stretching Lackberg is employing to the point of tedium. There is nothing more frustrating in a mystery than to have almost all of the information available to the characters that is necessary to solve the mystery within the first 1/4 of the book, yet have the writer consistently refuse to share that information with the reader on her own whim just to stretch the narrative. When time and time again, we heard about characters learning more and more about the keys to solving the mystery, yet those parts of the conversation were routinely withheld, I found that the story became very frustrating. This is a writing device that should be used sparingly and intelligently, rather than frequently and obviously. Basically, it made the book boring where the others had been complex and interesting. This just felt lazy.

  • Debra A Larsen
    2018-11-08 13:43

    I guessed the "twist" within the first several chapters of THE DROWNING. I'm very happy to suspend disbelief within the context of a well-constructed plot, credible characters, and relationships that are sufficiently complex to support seemingly illogical or, in other circumstances, truly unbelievable decisions. This novel achieves none of this. Rather, it features absolutely ridiculous behavior and bizarre choices that are simply jarring and serve to undermine the characters in pursuit of the "mystery" at the heart of the book. Given that the plot turns entirely on these absurd choices, the novel becomes laughably silly and irritating. It felt as though Lackberg was just too lazy or indifferent to his characters to take the time and care necessary to create them with any depth or intricacy.Usually I try to find at least one positive aspect of any novel on which I comment, but I am struggling to do so with THE DROWNING. Alice, the addled younger sister of one of the main characters, is charming. That is the best I can do.

  • S. Warfield
    2018-11-08 07:24

    The Drowning by Camilla Lackberg is a crime novel set in Sweden. Four people hold a deep and very dark secret from long ago and although three of them have pretty much forgotten about it, one has the story uppermost in his mind. All four begin to get threatening letters, but only one knows the meaning of them.Crime writer Erica Falck and her detective husband Patrick Hedstrom become involved in solving the crimes that eventually surface. Erica has helped a newcomer in Fjallbacka write his first novel, The Mermaid, and the book became an instant hit. Christian Thydell, the author, is married to Sanna and has two children. He is a quiet person and is not comfortable with his recent fame. Before long the letters begin to be delivered and they take on a threatening tone. Three others realize that their lives are in danger, but none of them knows what to do about it.Interspersed amid the chapters is a story by an unknown character who tells the sad tale of his childhood and his parents' treatment of him, as well as the bullying he suffered at school. This is an important part of the plot and the most interesting part of the book to me.I enjoyed the book and I usually do like Camilla Lackberg's books. The mystery and the crime in this one is not that easy to figure out, but all is revealed in the end.

  • Amy Bruckman
    2018-11-02 07:25

    I'm a fan of Lackberg's novels, and I mostly really enjoyed this one. Unfortunately, two things spoiled it for me. First, in a number of places, she uses a technique where a character says, "Oh! Now I understand...." and the author doesn't share the information with the reader. It's a cheap and annoying way to generate suspense. Second, without adding any spoilers, I found the ending unsatisfying. The answer to the mystery is cheesy, and the cliffhanger at the end is unrelated to the mystery and is like a bad soap opera.I still love the series and will read the rest! And I still found this enjoyable over all.